Ontario abortion numbers from the Ministry of Health and Long Term Care report 53,708 abortions in 2024. That's 1,241 more than OMHLTC reported in 2023. Every year the numbers go up. Every darn year.
Wednesday, July 8, 2026
Ontario abortions up by 1,241 from 2023
Monday, June 9, 2025
New data reveals Quebec's late-term live birth abortions for 2023/2024
In the past when I reported on Canada's late term live-birth abortions, Quebec's numbers were always excluded from CIHI's data. For the first time, I have now received Quebec's numbers for 2023/2024.
I originally reported 123 abortions for 2023/2024 for Canada, and now we know that Quebec performed an additional 27 of these late term born-alive abortions for a new total of 150.
Tuesday, April 29, 2025
Total 2023-2024 late-term born alive and stillbirth abortion numbers are up
Born alive and stillbirth late term abortions for 2023/2024. Totals for late-term born alive/stillbirth abortions combined, are more than the total for the previous year by 125. Comparison of the last five years below.
That is 642 late-term born alive abortions in just five years.
That is 5,738 late-term stillbirth abortions in just five years.
These numbers are most probably grossly underreported because CIHI only publishes numbers from nine provinces and the three territories. Noticeably absent is Quebec's numbers. I've asked CIHI why this is the case, and am waiting for a response.
'In Quebec, induced abortions during the second trimester of pregnancy result in a live birth more than one in ten times (11.2%). Of these live-born fetuses, one in ten survives more than 3 hours. These are the findings of a study published in June 2024 in the scientific journal American Journal of Obstetrics & Gynecology (AJOG).
The study was based on all second trimester abortions (13,777) performed in the hospitals of Quebec between 1989 and 2021. In Quebec, the law does not stipulate a maximum time limit for performing an abortion. The researchers found that abortions performed during the second trimester of pregnancy due to fetal anomalies doubled between the period 1989 - 2000 and 2011-2021. At the same time, they observed a significant increase in live births following a second-trimester abortion: the rate of 4.1 live births per 100 abortions in 1989-2001 climbs to 20.8% for the 2011-2021 period.
This is particularly true for abortions between 20 and 24 weeks of amenorrhea (18-22 weeks of pregnancy): in this case, more than one fetus in five is alive at the time of expulsion (21.7%).'
The pro-abortions always like to say that these late-term abortions are always done because of fetal anomalies or the health of the mother. But in 48% of these cases, the Quebec abortions took place for "personal or unspecified reasons" on a healthy fetus:
'The study showed that in 48% of second trimester abortions in Quebec, i.e. almost half the cases, there was no medical indication on the fetal side, nor any medical emergency on the maternal side. In these cases, the abortion took place for “personal or unspecified” reasons, on a healthy fetus.'
So many lies.
Tuesday, December 3, 2024
Breakdown of Quebec abortions by type of abortion 2023/2024
Further to 2023/2024 Quebec abortions. Below is the breakdown by abortion code. I include the English translation in bold.
Note: the codes for abortions done > 14 weeks (6941, 6948, 6949) and > than 20 weeks (6137)
Note: Nombre d'avortement distinct (plus d'un code peut être utilisé pour un même avortement) - Number of distinct abortions (more than one code can be used for the same abortion)
06137 - Gynécologie / Utérus et col utérin / Manipulation / Avortement par dilatation et extraction à partir de 20 semaines de grossesse, incluant la dilatation du col et l'insertion de tiges laminaires (PG-28) - Uterus and cervix / Manipulation / Abortion by dilation and extraction from 20 weeks of pregnancy, including cervical dilation and insertion of laminar rods
06451 - Gynécologie / Trompes / Suture / Stérilisation, toute méthode, toute voie d'approche, unilatérale ou bilatérale, post-partum ou élective, avec ou sans curetage / avec avortement thérapeutique - Tubes / Suture / Sterilization, any method, any approach, unilateral or bilateral, postpartum or elective, with or without curettage / with therapeutic abortion
06906 - Gynécologie / Utérus et col utérin / Manipulation / Avortement incomplet / par curetage - Gynecology / Uterus and cervix / Manipulation / Incomplete abortion / curettage
06908 - Gynécologie / Utérus et col utérin / Manipulation / Avortement / par extraction menstruelle (incluant la dilatation du col, l'insertion de tiges laminaires) - Gynecology / Uterus and cervix / Manipulation / Abortion / by menstrual extraction (including cervical dilation, insertion of laminar rods)
06909 - Gynécologie / Utérus et col utérin / Manipulation / Avortement / par curetage (incluant la dilatation du col, l'insertion de tiges laminaires) (PG-28) - Gynecology / Uterus and cervix / Manipulation / Abortion / curettage (including cervical dilation, insertion of laminar rods) (PG-28)
06941 - Gynécologie / Utérus et col utérin / Manipulation / Avortement thérapeutique à partir de 14 semaines / Un temps : (incluant le bloc paracervical, la dilatation du col, l'insertion de tiges laminaires) / aspiration, curetage et évacuation du foetus (P.G. 7.7 C) (P.C. 13) - Gynecology / Uterus and cervix / Manipulation / Therapeutic abortion from 14 weeks / One-stage: (including paracervical block, cervical dilation, insertion of laminar rods) / aspiration, curettage and evacuation of the fetus
06948 - Gynécologie / Utérus et col utérin / Manipulation / Avortement à partir de 14 semaines / Deux temps : / 1er temps : induction, toutes méthodes incluant, le cas échéant, l'évacuation du foetus (P.G. 7.7 C) - Gynecology / Uterus and cervix / Manipulation / Abortion from 14 weeks / Two stages: / 1st stage: induction, all methods including, where applicable, evacuation of the fetus (P.G. 7.7 C)
06949 - Gynécologie / Utérus et col utérin / Manipulation / Avortement de la 14e à la 19e semaine de grossesse inclusivement / 2e temps : curetage ou expulsion spontanée - Gynecology / Uterus and cervix / Manipulation / Abortion from the 14th to the 19th week of pregnancy inclusive / 2nd stage: curettage or spontaneous expulsion
Quebec abortions performed in Quebec
Certains avortements rendus le même jour peuvent être rémunérés selon 2 codes d'acte différents, expliquant que le nombre d'avortements (distinct) peut être inférieur à la somme par code d'acte. * Valeurs inférieures aux règles de diffusion de l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels. - Some abortions performed on the same day may be paid for according to 2 different procedure codes, explaining that the number of abortions (distinct) may be less than the amount per procedure code. * Values lower than the rules for dissemination of information and protection of personal information.
Quebec abortions performed in other provinces
Tuesday, October 15, 2024
Quebec has more late-term born-alive abortions than the rest of Canada
Andrea Mrozek writes about the recent study out of Quebec on born-alive abortions.
'The kicker for Canadians is that the study sample was 13,777 abortions done between 1989 and 2021 in Quebec. This means that over 32 years, about 430 abortions resulted in live births every single year in that province.'
These late term abortions also happen every year, in every other province in Canada. I have been collecting this data for many years from CIHI, but CIHI never reports on Quebec data. Now we know that there is an average of 430 of these late-term abortions in Quebec every year. This is a staggering number. It is also way higher than the number of late-term born-alive abortions in the rest of Canada (there were 131 in the rest of Canada in 2022/2023).
Only 5.5% of these born alive abortions received palliative care.
'In analyses of live births, one-quarter of neonates (24.5%) were admitted to an intensive care unit and 5.5% received palliative care.'
Abort late-term baby. Abortion fails. Baby is born-alive. Don't give it palliative care. This is just plain evil.
Wednesday, June 14, 2023
Quebec sends 115 women to other provinces to get their abortions in 2022
Quebec sent 115 women to other provinces for abortions during fiscal year 2022-04-01 to 2023-03-31. Doctor's offices performed 45 abortions at a total cost of $12,377 ($235 each) and hospitals performed 70 abortions at a total cost of $100,850 ($1,441 each). I assume the more expensive abortions were late-term abortions because of the much higher cost. But I wasn't able to get the gestational ages of the abortions.
I was told they did not send any women to the US for abortions.
This is what I was told about the gestational ages of the abortions:
"We are unable to grant your request. In fact, according to the invoicing terms set out in the remuneration agreements for general practitioners and medical specialists, the wording of the procedures related to the payment of medical fees for abortions does not accurately identify the gestational age at the time of the procedure. Therefore, it is not possible to provide data specifying the gestational age at the time the services were rendered for fees billed to the Régie for abortions.
Furthermore, the Program for free universal access to voluntary medical interruption of pregnancy (abortion pill) allows women who want to terminate a pregnancy of 9 weeks or less to obtain the abortion pill free of charge. The Program also covers certain drugs related to a voluntary interruption of pregnancy, such as those used to control nausea. We do not hold information on gestational age when using the abortion pill."
Monday, May 22, 2023
Costs to euthanize Quebec citizens in 2022
My Freedom of Information request to the Quebec government on the tragedy of euthanasia:
"Can you please provide me with all information relating to the payments made to health professionals in providing Medical Aid in Dying (MAID) to patients. I am looking for the total fees paid to these providers, for their MAID services (ie for MAID consults, counseling, injecting the drugs, etc)"
The first document below is what I received back in French. I used Google Translate to provide the English translations of the descriptions, and posted them below the French. Total cost of MAID was $5,880,162. That's nearly $6 million dollars to euthanize Quebec citizens.
Imagine instead of killing these people, we spent that money on helping them with their poverty, their mental illness, their pain, and their suffering? Isn't that what a caring society is supposed to do?
Tuesday, May 9, 2023
The lie continues that Canadian abortions occur only until 23 weeks and 6 days
"No providers in Canada offer abortion care beyond 23 weeks and 6 days." Action Canada for Sexual Health and Rights
I've now been able to read the paper that I discussed here: Later gestational age abortion in Canada: A scoping review. Carly Demont, Anvita Dixit, and Angel M. Foster. The Canadian Journal of Human Sexuality 2023 32:1, 51-62
Unfortunately I was unable to access the numerous studies this study refers to, but I was still able to learn the following from the paper itself. All emphasis added. All quotes are from the paper itself.
1) Research done on Quebec abortions: This study looked at gestational age abortions from 16 weeks to 37 weeks. stillbirth data, 1981–2006, N. Auger, G. Denis, Published 1 April 2012, Medicine, International Journal of Public Health "Objectives: We evaluated late pregnancy abortions from 1981 to 2006 in Québec, Canada. Methods We extracted late abortions from the stillbirth mortality file, and calculated yearly rates per 100,000 pregnancies, including mean gestational age, birth weight, maternal age and education. Results: There were 14.4 late abortions per 100,000 overall pregnancies [95% confidence interval 12.9, 16.1], and rates appeared to increase with time. Mean gestational age (24.7 weeks) and birth weight (886 g) suggested that abortions were performed in the late second and third trimesters. Conclusions Late abortions in Québec are not common but do occur. Research is needed to determine whether the increase in rates over time reflects better reporting or a true increase."
So these babies were at a mean age of 24.7 weeks and 885 g. That's more than 23 weeks and 6 days and almost two pounds in weight. Obviously some of these babies would be even larger than this, and as noted, up until 37 weeks gestation.
2) "Second-trimester abortion is associated with higher rates of complications compared to first-trimester terminations."
This study referred to gestational ages abortions from 13 weeks to 26 weeks 6 days. Once again, proof of abortions being performed past the so-called 23 weeks and 6 days limit)
3) "[Medical] students surveyed held significantly more positive attitudes toward first-trimester abortions than toward second-trimester surgical abortion."
In other words, the medical students had an issue with killing later term babies.
4) "13 of 16 Canadian clinics reported performing an estimated of 1,850 dilation and evacuation procedures".
That's a lot of clinics performing these horrific late-term abortions where the limbs are removed one by one and finally the head is crushed to remove it as well.
5) "There has been a declining proportion of abortions that occur late in the second trimester. There is concern that this will have implications for training and maintaining skills and that the distribution of services is becoming increasingly uneven."
They're concerned about the fact that fewer doctors will have the skills required to rip a baby apart? You can't make this stuff up.
6) "We spoke with three LGA abortion providers, three directors/executives of pro-choice networks and advocacy groups, and one womxn’s (this is not a typo) SRH researcher in Canada. All topic experts currently or previously held senior positions within their organizations/institutions and resided in British Columbia, Nova Scotia, or Ontario. All had experience helping abortion seekers who were past the gestational limit in their region access needed abortion care."
Here we have the pro-aborts actively going outside the medical guidelines. It shows just how ineffective those guidelines are.
7) "[Our topic experts] specifically focused on the lack of abortion services after 24 weeks’ gestation as being an increasing problem. One expert explained, “Until progress is made towards post-24-week care being available within Canada, provinces and territories should have robust ‘out-of-country’ travel processes that support individuals to make a plan to get the care they need.”"
And again...discussions from the 'experts' that they need post-24-week abortion care when Canadian guidelines do not allow abortions after 23 weeks 6 days.
What is always noticeably absent from any discussions by the pro-aborts on abortion, is the very clinical way in which it is always discussed. There is never any talk of the morality of abortion. When we lock up our consciences and throw away the key, a pre-born child only has worth if we condescend to give it.
Thursday, April 27, 2023
Canada has 22 more late-term born-alive abortions than last year
Last year there were 127 live-birth abortions. This year there were 149. That's an increase of 22 babies born alive after a late term abortion.
Six of these babies were greater than 29 weeks gestation.
There were also 911 late-term stillbirth abortions (Greater than 20 weeks gestation).
These numbers exclude Quebec born alive abortions. I'm not sure if I noticed this before.
"Table 1: Number of stillbirths resulting from termination of pregnancy...excluding Quebec"
"Table 2: Number of livebirths (with gestational age => 20 weeks) resulting from termination of pregnancy in acute inpatient settings in Canada (excluding Quebec), by province, 2021-2022"
"Table 3: Number of livebirths (with gestational age => 20 weeks) resulting from termination of pregnancy in acute inpatient settings in Canada (excluding Quebec), by gestational age (in weeks), 2021-2022"
Sunday, March 5, 2023
Ontario farms out 44 plus abortions to other provinces
In 2021, Ontario farmed out between 44 and 54 of its abortions to other provinces (Quebec, Alberta and British Columbia.
Tuesday, June 28, 2022
CIHI 2020 abortion data: tragedy and confusion still reign
CIHI's 2020 abortion stats:
"volumes reported underestimate the true number of induced abortions in Canada"
There are so many caveats (bolded below) in CIHI's abortion data, that it truly is difficult to know how many abortions are being perpetrated in Canada.
From Page 2:
"CIHI captures administrative, clinical and demographic data on induced abortions performed in Canadian hospitals. Data is supplied by provincial and territorial ministries of health, hospitals, independent abortion specific clinics and other clinics in Canada. Data from clinics providing abortion services is submitted voluntarily to CIHI and most does not include information on abortion procedure or patient characteristics. Counts in the following tables include induced abortions performed in a hospital or in a clinic providing abortion services in Canada. Due to variations in use of fee-for-service (FFS) payments for induced abortions across the country, these figures are not based on pan-Canadian FFS data [this is why I like to make FOI requests for data: it is typically more accurate than CIHI's numbers]
In recent years, medical abortions have become more accessible in primary care settings (e.g., nurse practitioner and physician offices, community and public health clinics), and most of these are not included in the data tables. In addition, the COVID-19 pandemic has had an impact on hospital activity in Canada (e.g., delayed or cancelled surgeries). Measures to maintain early access to abortion services during the pandemic (e.g., virtual visits, extending gestational age limit for medical abortion) may have further shifted abortion volumes to primary care settings. Therefore, volumes reported underestimate the true number of induced abortions in Canada. More comprehensive reporting may be available in future CIHI releases.
Results presented in tables 3 to 8 are derived from hospitalization data only. Findings therefore exclude many early, medical and uncomplicated induced abortions, which occur more frequently in clinic and primary care settings. These results are unlikely to be representative of all abortions across all settings and may overestimate the proportion of all abortions with complications and underestimate the proportion of all abortions provided medically and in the first trimester."
And this note on Table 1:
"Number of induced abortions reported in Canada in 2020, by province/territory of hospital or clinic" (note: some abortions not included, for example, most medical abortions in primary care settings*)
And regarding Quebec's numbers:
The methodology for Quebec was revised in 2019 to include fee codes for medical abortions, resulting in an increase in reported abortion volumes for both hospitals and clinics.
So it seems most provinces do not report medical abortions to CIHI--but Quebec does report medical abortions?
Every abortion is a tragedy, but some are more tragic than others:
- At least 1,376 women have had 2 or more hospital abortions (this number would be higher, because they exclude Quebec and clinic abortions)
- At least 652 women have had hospital abortions at 21+ weeks gestation (this number would also be higher, because they exclude Quebec and clinic abortions)
- 1,514 girls <=17 years old had an abortion. These girls cannot vote, legally drink or smoke dope, but they can abort their child.
Monday, June 27, 2022
Quebec outsources the deaths of 154 children by abortion
According to a freedom of information request to the Quebec government, there were 21,265 abortions in 2020/2021 in Quebec facilities. That's a total of $3,205,165 or an average of $151/abortion.
They also outsourced 75 abortions to non-Quebec doctors' offices, at an average cost of $269/abortion
And they also outsourced 78 abortions to non-Quebec hospitals at an average cost of $1,477/abortion. (My guess is that these are all late-term abortions because of the much higher costs)
Quebec also sent one child to the United States to die by abortion in 2020/2021. This abortion cost $599.40.
AB - Alberta CALGARY GENERAL PETER LOUGHEED CENTRE 1 for a total of $1,385
BC - British Columbia KELOWNA GENERAL HOSPITAL 3 for a total of $4,155 ($1385/abortion)
MB - Manitoba HEALTH SCIENCES CENTRE 1 for a total of $1,385
NS - Nova Scotia QEII HEALTH SERVICES CENTRE 2 for a total of $2,770 ($1385/abortion)
ON - Ontario Hawkesbury & District General Hospital 1 for a total of $1,385
ON - Ontario HOPITAL D'OTTAWA 56 for a total of 84,725 ($1,513/abortion. Notice that this cost is the highest average of all the abortions.)
ON - Ontario HOPITAL MONTFORT 4 for a total of $5,522 ($1,380.50/abortion)
ON - Ontario LONDON HEALTH SCIENCES CENTRE 3 for a total of $4,155 ($1380/abortion)
ON - Ontario North Bay Regional Health Centre 4 for a total of $5,540 ($1,385/abortion)
ON - Ontario Pembroke Regional Hospital Inc. 1 for a total of $1,385
PE - Île-du-Prince-Édouard/Prince Edward Island PRINCE COUNTY HOSPITAL 1 for a total of $1,385
SK - Saskatchewan Regina General Hospital 1 for a total of $1,385
Total 78 for a total cost of $115,177 or an average of $1,477/abortion
Thursday, January 13, 2022
Why low numbers for medical abortions in Quebec
The medical abortion numbers in Quebec I reported last time appeared to too low, so I asked RAMQ:
"The numbers of medical abortions seem to be very low. Can you check for me and see if there is a mistake in the medical abortion numbers? Also, the cost per abortion seems very low. Can you check on those costs as well?"
The response I received:
"Les tableaux disponibles en ligne concernant les remboursements accordés dans le cadre du Programme d’accès universel gratuit à l’interruption volontaire de grossesse médicamenteuse fournissent des données concernant le MifégymisoMC (pilule abortive) remis en pharmacien communautaire à la suite d’une consultation en clinique médicale à une personne assurée au régime public d’assurance médicaments. La Régie ne détient pas de donnée concernant le MifégymisoMC reçu dans un établissement de santé . Nous constatons que peu de personnes assurées vont en clinique médicale lorsqu’elles envisagent un avortement médicamenteux. En effet, elles semblent privilégier les services en établissement. Le nombre peu élevé de remboursements du MifégymisoMC dans les pharmacies communautaires s’explique probablement ainsi."
I don't speak French, so according to Google translate:
"The tables available online regarding reimbursements granted under the Free Universal Access to The Voluntary Termination of Pregnancy Drug Program provide data on Mifegymiso™ (abortion pill) given to a community pharmacist following a consultation in a medical clinic to a person insured under the public drug insurance plan. The Régie does not hold any data concerning Mifégymiso™ received in a health facility. We find that few insured people go to medical clinics when they are considering a medical abortion. Indeed, they seem to favour institutional services. This is likely due to the low number of reimbursements for Mifegymiso™ in community pharmacies."
I will attempt to find out what the numbers are for health facilities.
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Ontario out of province abortions for 2017
Last year I asked for this information from Ontario, and I don't think I ever posted their response.
"Can you please provide me with the number of abortions, and their cost, performed in 2017/2018 that were done outside of the province [of Ontario]: Broken down by province, or state, as the case may be."
Here is their response.
Note this comment from the Attorney General's office:
"RHBS and RMBS reciprocal agreement claims do not contain sufficient information to identify abortion services. Therefore there may be more abortion services were not captured in this report."
Friday, June 19, 2020
Canadian abortion statistics 2015-2019
I am only missing Northwest Territories. I will post NWT once I receive the information.
Below are all of my most recent posts on abortion statistics in Canada from this year.
PEI
Yukon
Nunavut
New Brunswick (Part 1)
Nova Scotia
Saskatchewan
Manitoba
British Columbia
Canadian abortion statistics: who does, and who does not, report medical abortions
Canada abortion rates by province
The never ending story of abortion statistics in Canada
Alberta abortion codes
UPDATE: Alberta abortion statistics for 2015/2016 to 2018/2019
UPDATE The facts about abortions statistics in Canada
2018 abortion numbers - are they going up or down?
Late term live-birth abortions in Canada - the Series
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
The never ending story of abortion statistics in Canada
Adding 20.42% (to CIHI's reported 85,195 in 2018 for all of Canada) would mean a total of at least 102,592 abortions for all of Canada.
See above link for my notes from CIHI and MOHLTC.
Sunday, March 1, 2020
UPDATE: Alberta abortion statistics for 2015/2016 to 2018/2019
UPDATE March 3, 2020
My question to AHS regarding their statistics, and their response:
Q. Can you explain why your stats are consistently lower than those stats reported by CIHI?
A. There are two reasons
1. Difference in Data source (We use Claims and CIHI uses inpatient/outpatient data).
2. Difference in methodology (We restrict any claims with 60 days as one abortion) but am not sure about CIHI (You can confirm with them).
I received abortion statistics from Alberta Health Services (AHS) through a freedom of information request. I then compared these numbers to CIHI's numbers. As you can see, AHS's numbers are less than CIHI's. This was a surprise since both Quebec and Ontario's numbers are higher than CIHI's.
But notice the footnotes.
From CIHI data:
"patients with coverage under Quebec’s health insurance plan receiving care in Alberta are reported by Alberta. However, patients with coverage under Alberta’s health insurance plan receiving care in Quebec are not reported (by either Quebec or Alberta)." |
From Alberta data:
"Mifegymiso prescriptions were introduced in July 2017 which affected abortions numbers for the last two fiscal years."So abortions covered by AHS do not include medical abortions, but only surgical abortions. This means that 2017/2018 and 2018/2019 numbers would be higher than reported--if only we knew how many medical abortions were occurring in Alberta.
Once again we have confusion over abortion statistics.
Monday, February 24, 2020
UPDATE The facts about abortions statistics in Canada
The media has it wrong: New data suggests Canadian clinics and hospitals performing fewer abortions. So does Joyce Arthur.
Why? Because what people always report are CIHI's numbers. And CIHI is missing a lot of data based on freedom of information requests I've done.
It is a well known fact CIHI under reports abortion numbers because they do not collect data based on fee for service records (i.e. OHIP billings in Ontario).
"CIHI captures administrative, clinical and demographic data on induced abortions performed in Canadian hospitals. Data is supplied by provincial and territorial ministries of health, hospitals and independent abortion clinics in Canada. Clinic data is submitted voluntarily to CIHI. Counts in the following tables include induced abortions performed in a hospital or clinic setting in Canada. Due to variations in use of fee-for-service (FFS) payments for induced abortions across the country, these figures are not based on pan-Canadian FFS data."What we do know about CIHI's data:
- abortions performed in physician's office are not reported (only hospitals and clinics are reported). (UPDATE March 2, 2020 Correction: CIHI apparently does a calculation to increase their accuracy *** However they are still under reporting see below)
- clinic abortion data is under reported because of its voluntary nature
- medical abortions (the abortion pill RU-486) are not reported (for the most part they are prescribed through physician offices)
- CIHI hospital abortion data is accurate
- the only accurate data available for all abortions comes from FFS or doctor's billing records (OHIP in Ontario RAMQ in Quebec)
Ontario: In 2017/2018 MOHLTC reported 42,853 abortions compared to 2018 CIHI reported 29,513 abortions in Ontario. A difference of 13,340 unreported abortions.
(UPDATE March 2, 2020): in 2017/2018 MOHLTC reported 42,853 and in 2017 CIHI reported 35,587. In the calculation above I used CIHI's 2018 numbers instead of 2017 numbers. The confusion comes from the fact that CIHI reports a calendar year, and MOHLTC reports a fiscal year of April 1, 2017- March 31, 2018. So it makes more sense to compare MOHLTC numbers to CIHI's calendar year. Therefore Ontario: In 2017/2018 MOHLTC reported 42,853 abortions compared to 2017 CIHI who reported 35,587 abortions in Ontario. A difference of 7,266 unreported abortions. This means CIHI under reported Ontario's abortions by 20.42%. I will be doing more comparisons in a later post.)
Quebec: Recently I reported numbers for the first time from Quebec:
In 2018 RAMQ reported 26,979 compared to 22,093 from CIHI = 4,886 unreported abortions
This means CIHI under reported Quebec's abortions by 22%.
Quebec and Ontario are the largest provinces in Canada. Therefore they perform the most abortions. So total numbers of abortions reported by CIHI are probably somewhere between 22% and 45% lower than the actual totals.
CIHI reported 85,195 in 2018 for all of Canada. Quebec and Ontario abortions make up 65% of that number. If we assume all provinces have similar under reported abortion numbers, it's fair to say that the percentages would be somewhere between 22% or 45% higher than CIHI reports.
This means the total number of abortions done in Canada in 2018 can reasonably be expected to be somewhere between 103,937 to 123,532. Not 85,195.
UPDATE March 2, 2020 from CIHI: "The report you shared (42,853) includes seven fee codes, however CIHI reports only using two fee codes. If you limit your comparison to the 2 surgical fee codes (S752 and S785), the total numbers presented in the MOH report are very close to CIHI’s reported numbers (32,795 vs 29,513 respectively). In addition, CIHI reported for calendar year 2018 while the other report appears to be based on fiscal year 2017/18 data."
To which I responded: "So why doesn't CIHI use all the fee codes used by Ontario, since those are abortions as well? There is a big 45% difference between CIHI's numbers and Ontario's numbers. Ontario reported 42,853 and CIHI only reported 29,513. I realize there is a difference in the two reporting periods, because MOHLTC reports using a fiscal year, CIHI uses a calendar year, but there is no way to get a completely equivalent time frame, so I must compare the two years in this manner."
*** This is included on CIHI's annual reports on abortion ***
The methodology to estimate induced abortion volumes for Ontario is consistent with the enhanced methodology that was introduced in the 2015 report. Total volumes were derived by using the total abortion volumes reported to the National Physician Database (NPDB) at CIHI and adding both hospital-based abortions for non-Ontario residents and hospital-based medical-method-only abortions for Ontario residents (as reported to the Discharge Abstract Database and the National Ambulatory Care Reporting System). For Ontario, volumes reported in the column Number of induced abortions reported by clinics include services from non-hospital settings. Volumes for non-hospital settings (clinics/surgical facilities/physician offices) were estimated using the total abortion volumes as described above and subtracting hospital-based abortions. This methodology results in induced abortions occurring in physician offices and in clinics being included in non-hospital settings volumes. This estimation approach for non-hospital volumes was required because information on the location where the service is rendered (e.g., clinic, hospital, physician’s office) may not be included in the NPDB data.
Update March 3, 2020 from OMHLTC:
"Health Services Branch has confirmed that medical abortions would be captured under A920A." This means that medical abortions are being captured under A920. But so are missed abortions. As well, there are other methods to deal with missed abortions which do not include RU486. What a dog's breakfast abortion statistics are.
UPDATE March 4, 2020, comparison of Ontario and CIHI's data for the past four years.
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Quebec abortions at least 20% higher than reported by CIHI
The good news is that Quebec's abortion rates appear to be decreasing. The bad news is that what CIHI reports for Quebec abortions is under reported by at least 20%.
I did a freedom of information request of Quebec Health RAMQ. This is what I asked for:
1. The number of abortions done in a Canadian province, other than Quebec, reimbursed by RAMQ, as well as the total cost, for each of the last five years, broken down by hospital, by clinic, and by physician's office.
2. The number abortions done in Quebec, reimbursed by RAMQ, as well as the total cost, for each of the last five years, broken down by hospital, by clinic, and by physician's office.
3. The number abortions done in the United States, reimbursed by RAMQ, as well as the total cost, for each of the last five years.Below are scans of what I received back. Sorry for the poor quality.
The first three scans are the numbers of abortions done in Quebec, and the last scan is of the abortions done in a province outside of Quebec.
Ignoring the 2019 stats (the year isn't finished yet) and the 2014 stats (doesn't seem to be online anymore at CIHI's site), I looked at 2015, 2016 and 2017 and compared them to CIHI's numbers.
Here they are (and for this calculation I ignored the out of province abortions so the actual abortions are even higher than this):
2015 RAMQ/CIHI 29,036/24,193 (difference of 4,843)
2016 RAMQ/CIHI 28,086/23,393 (difference of 4,693)
2017 RAMQ/CIHI 27,621/22,966 (difference of 4,655)
For the abortions done out of province, I noticed something interesting. For those done under "Services professionels" (380 of them), the average cost was about $308. For those done under "Services hospitaliers" the average cost was about $1,580. It seems probable that these are late-term abortions because of the much higher cost.
Regarding abortions done if the US, I was told:
"Furthermore, we wish to inform you that we have not reimbursed any abortion performed in the US." [sic]
Friday, March 27, 2015
Quebec wants to increase abortions
Anne-Marie Messier, director of a clinic thinks that abortion makes women equal to men. She said:
“What we’re saying is family planning and access to abortions are fundamental — the No. 1 priority when it comes to equality between men and women."Then the article goes on to talk about how there will be more abortions in Quebec when Health Minister Gaétan Barrette said:
"Far from restricting access to abortion, Bill 20 would improve it by asking doctors to see more patients and perform more procedures."Good grief. Quebecers must be really messed up. You'd think that maybe there would be a goal to have less abortions and not more. Are they going to start advertising to get more women to kill their unborn babies? Is that where this is headed?
What a sad sad province.


















